Year Pages‎ > ‎1991‎ > ‎

2. 2001 Update

posted Apr 9, 2012, 8:40 PM by Eddie Woo
Pippa Beard
“I completed my PhD from the veterinary pathology department of Edinburgh University (Scotland) in February of this year.  The PhD was loads of fun, involving a lot of touring round the Scottish countryside collecting and post morteming dead wildlife (I even got to go all the way up to Shetland).  Edinburgh is a wonderful, wonderful city – definitely one of the greatest places on earth and everyone should make a pilgrimage to it at one time or other in their life!
I’m now in another continent, working as a post-doctoral research fellow in the department of Microbiology and Immunology, Cornell University, New York.  (That’s New York state, meaning I am about 6 hours north of New York city, even so, its not been an easy month for obvious reasons.)  I’m researching the DNA-binding proteins of the herpes simplex virus.  It’s a lot more exciting than it sounds, honestly!  Cornell University is huge, immensely well funded, and bloody freezing in winter.”

Pecky De Silva
“Well, I am working at Liverpool Hospital.  Its my third year out after finishing medicine at UNSW and I’m working currently as the neurosurgical registrar.  I’m sort of somewhere at the beginning of a career in surgery with years of training ahead…”

Kerwyn Foo
“I’m working in radiation oncology at Westmead Hospital, only a few km from our old school.  I live in Toongabbie, also not too far from JR.  I can’t seem to get away from the place –there are Ruse old-boys/girls crawling all over my workplace.  Also, am married now and have a cat but no kids.”

Darren Gardner
“These days I spend as much of my time as I can riding my mountain bike, backcountry telemark skiing, playing squash and building a dirt Yurt.  Earlier this year I spent 5 weeks mountain biking around Hawaii – big hills, good fun.  I have also done some mountain biking and walking in Tassie, some trekking in Nepal (with Glenn) and some honeymooning in Borneo (not with Glenn).
When not pursuing these activities I am a patent attorney with Freehills which is great fun as I continually get to run into ex-Ruse people and see all sorts of cutting edge inventions as well as a whole bunch of crap ones.”
 
Glen Horrocks
“Life’s a bit frenetic at the moment as I put the finishing touches to my PhD thesis.  My topic is computer modelling of the aerodynamics of automobile engines, a collaboration between the University of Technology Sydney, and Bishop Innovation, a Sydney based engineering research firm.  I start work at Bishop as an employee in about 2 weeks – real job at last!
I’ve done a lot of mountain biking, walking, canyoning and skiing over the last few years, and have recently done a fair amount of orienteering.  To use my outdoors skills for community service, I am active in the Bushwalkers Wilderness Rescue Squad, a volunteer rescue squad involved in remote area search and rescue (such as lost bushwalkers and plane crashes).  I have done many trips and expeditions with Darren Gardner, including a Nepal trekking/mountaineering expedition.”

Jason Keane
“I miss my school days.  Not for the school which was shabby, nor my academic achievements which were paltry, nor the sporting glories or the breaking of young hearts.  I just miss having someone there.  Someones who knew your name, and what you did and who you were.  One hundred and forty odd someones who from week to week gave life some sort of community context that is so absent in “real life”.  Rugby seasons.  Cricket seasons.  School plays.  Exams.  Swimming carnivals.  Excursions to Canberra. Cadet parades.  A free movie at the end of term.  Life was once measured in this primitive calendar and things were at once more important and more trivial than they ever were.
Old enough to drive dad’s car but too young to work.  Old enough to drink and to smoke.  To stay out all night – but not have to work in the morning.  No rent, no bills to pay.  Nirvana, it seemed, was never more than a lunch break away.
I remember Matt Holden’s cars, Mrs Cannon’s accent, Mr Dunkerley’s ties and Mr Mathews’ safari suit, which would appear in a burst of colour once a year like some migratory bird.  I remember the try I scored against Epping, carrying half their team on my back on the way to the line.  I remember Boris Edwards & his band The Pleasure.  I remember Heartbreak Hill and twelve minute runs and Luke Macnab always chipping over the top in touch footy.”

Alex Lee
“Since finishing a business degree in ’95 I’ve been working in various jobs within the Finance / funds management industry.  In the main, my roles can be loosely classified as “accounting” and in most instances had involved some form of financial analysis and management support.  In keeping with the spirit of change and renewal, I’m starting a new role as a business analyst specialising in management information system next month while finishing off a postgrade degree and whatever little time I’ve got left to myself tend to involve things soccer related.”
 
 
Lara McKinley
“And I thought six years of studying agriculture was a waste of time?  Not so!  It has helped me categorically avoid the temptation of getting sheep to eat the grass on the modest 27 acres of paddock where I am currently living in Central Victoria.  Local farmers find my aversion to crutching sheep amusing and (probably concerned about fire hazards of long grass) lend me some of theirs.  It’s a picturesque backdrop and red river gums are incredible.
In between avoiding the sheep, worrying about running out of water in our tanks and waging heroic battles against spider infestations I run a business out of Bendigo.  My business is centered around the idea of photographic narrative:  using words and photographs together to tell a story.  These are usually exhibits, combining photographs and first person interviews in a single art-work.”

Fiona Bustos-McNeil
“I have been spent the last year living in London at Goodenough College (a residential college for mainly overseas post-graduate students) and working for the London office of Minter Ellison, Lawyers while Robert has been taking the first year of his MBA at the London Business School.  This year we are both full-time students and I have officially enrolled as a student of University College London reading for my Master of Laws (Intellectual Property).”

Danielle Nichol
“I am now working in AMP’s Compliance and Technical Services Department – yes, I am finally a CAT!  Destined to work here!  It is in line with my ongoing (and seemingly never ending) Superannuation studies, so at least I have that practical tie up now.  It’s all legislation & analysis of what AMP is/should be doing.”

Gavin Sandercoe
“After Ruse, went straight into Medical School at Sydney Uni.  Had a great time and managed to get through.  Got married to Nicole (an accountant) at the end of Uni, and we currently live at Glenwood.  Currently working towards a career speciality of Trauma Surgery + Retrieval / Intensive.  I currently work at Westmead Hospital, but have been shifted around from Auburn to Orange and Darwin.”

Adrian Smith
“Just about to submit my PhD thesis (about time!).  No idea what comes after that.  Science looks like a particularly uninviting career but I’m not sure my current alternatives are any better.
Still living in Campsie with Sharyn (my gorgeous wife ) and Madeleine (my gorgeous 18 months old daughter)”

Carla Walton (and Vanessa Ward)
“I’m currently completing a Doctorate in Clinical Psychology at the University of Wollongong.  I have lived in Wollongong for 2 years now and my flat is a 5 minute walk from the beach, which somehow makes the whole study thing not quite so bad.
Vanessa is teaching high school in a small rural village in Malawi, Africa.  There are only a handful of other women in the village since the school she teaches at is run by a Catholic brother and is a Catholic boys high school.  Recently, most of the boys at her school destroyed the high school in another village after provocation by the neighbouring school’s football team.  Hence, all but 20 of the students have been suspended or expelled.”

John Warren
“I’m living in Melbourne and working for the Victorian state government.  I’m with Land Victoria who are the agency responsible for crown land, the titles office and mapping stuff.  It’s all good.  I’ve just had my second wedding anniversary (married Catherine in August ’99) – no kids or pets yet.
I am still in touch with Andrew Powell – he is living in Brisbane again and is working for the Premiers department in the Queensland Public Service.  He and wife Taryn just had their first child – Daniel was born in April this year.”

Meredith Whiting
“Seemingly immediately upon completion of HSC, I started Medicine at Sydney.  This went on for 6 years .. I’m happy with my choice now but I don’t think I’d do it again.  During those tedious hours at Sydney Uni and Concord then Canberra Hospitals, I met Damian Smith.  We were married in a lovely little Church in Sutton Forest April 2000 and are living in Canberra now, with plans to move back to Sydney 2002.
I am in my second year of the Psychiatry program, and I actually do think I’m in a privileged position in talking with people.”

Lisa Young
“In August last year, I rather grudgingly gave up living in the Blue Mountains – and not very grudgingly gave up working at Nepean Hospital as a medical researcher – to move back to Sydney.  This was the result of taking up a position with the NSW Police Service as an intelligence analyst, which has been both a major challenge and a major culture shock.  (You lot could have helped by being a bit less intellectual and left-wing early on…!)  I’d tell you more, but then I’d have to kill you!  Do enjoy it though, and hope to start a Masters in this area next year.
Still into photography, it has taken me to some of the best and worst places imaginable during the last couple of years.   I still amuse (frighten?) new friends and colleagues by spontaneously repeating things inadvertently collected at Ruse – “To put the lathe in back gear, take the pin out of the bull wheel and engaaaage the back gear lev-rrr!”
Comments